CFL Pass

Fajardo reportedly named West's best player

Saskatchewan Roughriders quarterback Cody Fajardo has been named the most outstanding player in the CFL’s West Division, according to a report by CKRM’s Derek Taylor.

Finalists for the CFL Player Awards are to be formally announced Thursday.

This is the 11th time that a Roughrider has been named the West’s best player. The team’s other MOP finalists were George Reed (1965, 1968 and 1969), Ron Lancaster (1966, 1970, 1976), Ken Carpenter (1955), Robert Mimbs (1996), Corey Holmes (2005) and Kerry Joseph (2007).

Lancaster won the award in 1970 and 1976. Reed (1965) and Joseph (1970) were each honoured once.

Only four times in a span of 43 seasons has a Roughrider been named the MOP. Joseph is the only winner of the league’s MOP award during that span.

Taylor is also reporting that Hamilton Tiger-Cats receiver Brandon Banks is the East Division’s MOP finalist.

The winner is to be announced Nov. 21 in Calgary.

Fajardo is among eight members of the Saskatchewan Roughriders to be named CFL West Division all-stars Wednesday.

The others are Dan Clark (centre), Shaq Evans (receiver), Charleston Hughes (defensive end), Solomon Elimimian (linebacker), Derrick Moncrief (cover linebacker), Mike Edem (safety) and Jon Ryan (punter).

As a first-year starter, Fajardo led the league in passing yards (4,302) and rushed for 10 touchdowns while helping Saskatchewan post a 13-5 record and finish first in the West.

“Couldn’t have done this without my teammates,” Fajardo tweeted on Wednesday. “This award is more than about me. I love this team! Thank you for the votes!”

The 31-year-old Clark, an eighth-year Roughrider, received all-star honours for the first time.

Evans caught 72 passes for 1,334 yards and five TDs. His receiving-yardage total was the 11th-highest in franchise history.

Hughes registered 16 sacks and led the league in that category for the fourth consecutive season. A second-year Roughrider, he is an eighth-time divisional all-star.

Elimimian, a sixth-time West all-star, was recognized for the first time as a Roughrider after registering 88 defensive tackles and four sacks in 15 games.

In 17 games, Moncrief recorded 69 defensive tackles, four sacks, three interceptions and a forced fumble.

Edem, who was an East Division all-star with the Montreal Alouettes as a rookie in 2013, had 69 defensive tackles, three sacks and a forced fumble in 2019.

Saskatchewan paced the West with eight all-stars, followed by the Blue Bombers (six), Calgary Stampeders (six), Edmonton Eskimos (five) and B.C. Lions (two).

Ryan, 37, was a West Division and CFL all-star with the Winnipeg Blue Bombers in 2005, after averaging a league-record 50.6 yards per punt. A 12-year NFLer, Ryan boasted a franchise-record average of 48.8 during his first season with the Green and White.