CFL Pass

Team Burris gets the win as Top Prospects shine in Ottawa

For 72 of the top high school football prospects in this country, the Prospect Game was an opportunity to shine on the big stage on Saturday afternoon at TD Place.

Many of the featured players will go on to big things, some of them in USports, others in the NCAA, probably a few will get to the CFL.

Former Ottawa Redblacks quarterback Henry Burris, who in legendary fashion led the local CFL team to a Grey Cup win in 2016, is also now 1-0 as a head coach. Team Burris bested Team Dunigan, a team coached by former CFL star QB Matt Dunigan, 41-24. Both Burris and Dunigan are CFL on TSN panelists.

Team Burris got three touchdowns from receiver Sony Bermudez-Chavez, with running back Matthew Morin scoring two more. Logan Buckwitz also scored a touchdown.

Team Dunigan got touchdowns from Nathan Falconi, Kolby Hurford and Ryker Frank.

“I’m a playmaker, if the ball comes my way, I’m going to catch it no matter what,” said Bermudez-Chavez, who’s in Grade 11 at Harry Ainlay School in Edmonton. “I like to think that I’m never going to drop a ball.”

Bermudez-Chavez was excited when he got the opportunity to participate: “Everyone got the call to come to this game before me and I was thinking,’ I didn’t make the team.’ I got the call probably two weeks after everybody.”

Morin, who goes to Lloydminster Comprehensive High School, proved to be elusive on Saturday, saying, “It’s amazing to be part of this, there’s a lot of talent out here.”

Not the biggest running back on the field, he said: “I bring speed and agility and think I have the vision to get through holes.”

Burris was impressed with what he saw from the sidelines.

“This game showed the strength of Canadian football, I can tell you there are some great players out here. To see how the kids stepped up on the field, to see how they came alive when the cameras were on, they really showed up when it counted most: Game time.”

Ryker Frank was the Team Dunigan overall MVP, the defensive MVP was Nathan Carabatsakis, offensive MVP was Samuel Tremblay and best lineman was Cody McMahon. Bermudez-Chavez was the Team Burris overall MVP, the defensive MVP was Tyson Krushelniski, Eli Hetlinger was the offensive MVP and Albert Reese IV was the best lineman.