CFL Pass

CFL Awards: Finalists for Players, Coach of the Year announced

A week ago teams around the CFL revealed who would be up for each year-end award and now we know who the finalists are.

Most Outstanding Player
Henry Burris, Ottawa RedBlacks
Bo Levi Mitchell, Calgary Stampeders

Most Outstanding Defensive Player
Adam Bighill, BC Lions
Simoni Lawrence, Hamilton Tiger-Cats

Most Outstanding Canadian
Brad Sinopoli, Ottawa RedBlacks
Jamaal Westerman, Winnipeg Blue Bombers

Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman
SirVincent Rogers, Ottawa RedBlacks
Jovan Olafioye, BC Lions

Most Outstanding Special Teams Player
Brandon Banks, Hamilton Tiger-Cats
Rene Paredes, Edmonton Eskimos

Most Outstanding Rookie
Vidal Hazelton, Toronto Argonauts
Derel Walker, Edmonton Eskimos

The Ottawa RedBlacks could have a *huge* night at the CFL awards as they lead the way with four finalists with Rick Campbell being named a finalist for Coach of the Year as well.

I don’t know if there’s a wrong choice this year. On one hand, Rick Campbell was able to lead the Ottawa RedBlacks from just two wins in 2014 all the way to twelve wins this season but Chris Jones and the Eskimos sit atop the CFL despite being without Mike Reilly for most of the season. I’m happy I don’t have to make a decision here but if I did have to, I’d go with Chris Jones.

The Eskimos overcame a little more adversity with injuries to the quarterback (Mike Reilly), offensive line (too many to count), and running back (John White). They also played seventeen straight games without a BYE, which is just unheard of in professional football.

However, if General Manager of the Year were an award, I’d probably give the nod to Ottawa’s Marcel Dejardins. SirVincent Rogers (Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman finalist), Brad Sinopoli (Most Outstanding Canadian finalist), and a brand new receiving corps that included Ernest Jackson, Chris Williams, Greg Ellingson, and Maurice Price – all key acquisitions last offseason that completed a rebuild in about six months.

Scott Milanovich is another guy who won’t win Coach of the Year but should definitely get some credit. What the Toronto Argonauts went through this year was complete garbage, so the fact that they’re preparing for an East Semi-Final game with the Hamilton Tiger-Cats is remarkable.

If the CFL can’t give Dejardins and Milanovich awards, allow CFLpass to give each man a digital pat on the back.

– written by Travis Currah