CFL Pass

Teams announce award nominees (plus CFLpass Official Fearless Predictions™)

Every June I get excited for the playoffs but every November I wish I could go back to June because the excruciatingly long CFL off-season is just *twenty five days* away. I’ve already got the shakes...

With the end of the regular season looming, every team has announced their nominees for Most Outstanding Player, Defensive Player, Canadian, Offensive Lineman, Special Teams Player, and Rookie. As always, there are some nominees that are inspiring some debate on social media.

BC Lions
Player: Adam Bighill
Defensive: Adam Bighill
Canadian: Andrew Harris
Offensive Lineman: Jovan Olafioye
Special Teams: Chris Rainey
Rookie: Jonathon Jennings

Edmonton Eskimos
Player: Mike Reilly
Defensive: Dexter McCoil
Canadian: Sean Whyte
Offensive Lineman: D’Anthony Batiste
Special Teams: Deon Lacey
Rookie: Derel Walker

Calgary Stampeders
Player: Bo Levi Mitchell
Defensive: Duron Mayo
Canadian: Junior Turner
Offensive Lineman: Spencer Wilson
Special Teams: Rene Parades
Rookie: Tory Harrison

Saskatchewan Roughriders
Player: Jeff Knox Jr.
Defensive: Jeff Knox Jr.
Canadian: Rob Bagg
Offensive Lineman: Brendon Labatte
Special Teams: Dylan Ainsworth
Rookie: Jeff Knox Jr.

Winnipeg Blue Bombers
Player: Jamaal Westerman
Defensive: Jamaal Westerman
Canadian: Jamaal Westerman
Offensive Lineman: Stanley Bryant
Special Teams: Troy Stoudemire
Rookie: Khalil Bass

Hamilton Tiger-Cats
Player: Zach Collaros
Defensive: Simoni Lawrence
Canadian: Ted Laurent
Offensive Lineman: Mike Filer
Special Teams: Brandon Banks
Rookie: Terrence Toliver

Toronto Argonauts
Player: Trevor Harris
Defensive: Greg Jones
Canadian: Cleyon Laing
Offensive Lineman: Gregory Van Roten
Special Teams: Brian Rolle
Rookie: Vidal Hazelton

Ottawa RedBlacks
Player: Henry Burris
Defensive: Damaso Munoz
Canadian: Brad Sinopoli
Offensive Lineman: SirVincent Rogers
Special Teams: Antoine Pruneau
Rookie: Forrest Hightower

Montreal Alouettes
Player: Stefan Logan
Defensive: Winston Venable
Canadian: Jeff Perrett
Offensive Lineman: Jeff Perrett
Special Teams: Stefan Logan
Rookie: Boris Bede

CFLpass Official Fearless Predictions™
Player: Henry Burris
Defensive: Adam Bighill
Canadian: Jamaal Westerman
Offensive Lineman: Jeff Perrett
Special Teams: Stefan Logan
Rookie: Derel Walker

One of the glaring omissions on the list is new Calgary Stampeders running back Jerome Messam. With 1,412 combined yards, it’s an absolute crime that he doesn’t at least get a shot at winning Most Outstanding Canadian but I can’t blame the media with their votes. Calgary probably shouldn’t vote for Messam as he’s only been there for one game and it’s hard for Saskatchewan to vote for him since he’s not there anymore. I don’t think the system is bad per se but the system is the reason Messam was snubbed.

Another player that should have been up for an award is Eric “Cheat Code” Rogers. Over 1,400 yards receiving and double digit touchdowns should get you *something*. While the Calgary nod for MOP went to the guy throwing the ball to Rogers, it is my opinion that Cheat Code himself should have been the guy.

One last interesting nomination is the MOP nomination in Edmonton – Mike Reilly. Yes, the Eskimos clinched first place and *are* hosting the West Final, Mike Reilly hasn’t exactly lit the world on fire. But who else is there? The Eskimos’ season was the definition of a team effort.

We can all debate until we’re red in the face but either way, we will all find out the CFL Awards winners on November 26th from Winnipeg…and then we can argue some more.

– written by Travis Currah